University Honours ConTempo Quartet

NUI Galway today awarded Honorary Doctorates to the members of the Galway Music Residency’s ConTempo Quartet. In her introduction, the University’s Bursar, Mary Dooley, reflected on childhoods in pre-revolutionary Romania, education at the same music high school and university in Bucharest, followed by prestigious fellowships in Spain, Canada and the UK before winning the international competition in 2003 to become Galway’s Ensemble in Residence which allowed ConTempo to come and live and work in Galway.  A shared and abiding love of music, always encouraged by their parents, underlies ConTempo’s continuing success and wonderful performances. Their recent selection as RTE’s Quartet in Residence is a testament to their excellence. The Bursar also commended the foresight and commitment of Sally Coyle & Jane O’Leary, who founded the Galway Music Residency, and funders including The Arts Council, NUI Galway, TG4, Galway University Foundation, Bank of Ireland and Galway City & County Councils.  Much more to come for music in Galway!